Lythe Hill is a historic country house hotel, set in 20 acres of woodland on the slopes of the Surrey/Sussex Hills. The former farm house and outbuildings form a picturesque hamlet on the outskirts of the market town of Haslemere.
Today Haslemere, like Lythe Hill, remains relatively unchanged by the 20th century, retaining much of its historical charm. The main hotel comprises of converted farm out-building barns, cattle sheds, milking parlours and stalls. The listed Tudor Farm House dates back to 1475. Once the centre of a large estate, this is now our renowned Restaurant and it houses five individual bedrooms and suites (named after Henry VIII and four of his unfortunate wives).
Lythe Hill retains a rural ambience with two lakes, one ornamental and the other maintained by a local angling society and adjoins National Trust land and an RSPB reserve Barfold Copse. Haslemere attracted a number of eminent writers, poets and artists, among them George Bernard Shaw, Arthur Conan Doyle and Tennyson.
The view of Blackdown is evocative when not shrouded by cloud. One can understand how Tennyson found solace walking on the hill. He spent twenty-five reclusive years living here and died at Aldworth House on the 6th October 1892. Tennyson said of the view of Blackdown, ‘You came, looked and loved the view long known and loved by me, green Sussex fading into blue with one grey glimpse of sea.’ On a clear day, from the ‘Temple of the Winds’ one can view the counties of Surrey, Sussex and Hampshire at the same time.
Lythe Hill’s Tudor house is a listed building and has been refurbished and modernised without losing any of its natural charm or historical atmosphere. Throughout the conversion the original beams have been retained, as has the original oak door which served as the main entrance to the house.
Renovations took place so as to retain the charming local character of the external buildings. When the conversion was complete the new hotel consisted of 28 rooms, conference facilities for 60 delegates, a boutique, sauna and a covered conservatory which was formerly the hotels Italian Garden and Entente Cordiale Restaurant.
In the summer of 1975, the creation of a helicopter pad added a new significance to Lythe Hill as a Conference Centre. Delegates arriving from Heathrow could be ‘Ferried’ to the hotel within 18 minutes. The helicopter pad is still in use today.
The present owner purchased the property in 2015 and since then the hotel has undergone extensive renovations and refurbishment to maintain its four star and two AA Rosettes status. Lythe Hill now has 46 en suite bedrooms all individually decorated, including several suites. All of our rooms are named rather than numbered adding to the individuality of each room. Our first floor rooms are named after local places, 2nd floor named after famous people and our rooms outside named after writers and poets.
Whether you are here for business or pleasure we hope you are able to relax and enjoy the warm and welcoming hospitality that prevails at Lythe Hill, surrounded by reminders of a bygone era.